So a student walks into my room wearing an ankle monitor

Image

So a student walks into my room wearing an ankle monitor

to tell her sister that the police had just arrived at school to talk to her. She claimed she had no idea why. I asked her sister, a student in my room, why her sister had an ankle bracelet. She proceeded to tell me the story and then she and I started to talk about her life, her interests, etc. She asked about me.

And then she asked, “What do you like better, teaching or running your own business?”

I thought for a millisecond and responded, “I like them both equally.” When you teach and really bond with a student, that is the pinnacle of the profession. Owning my own small business was not that important at that moment. That’s why I didn’t give up teaching completely.

Leave a Reply

