Determination and Effort

Image

Determination and Effort

For the past 3 days I have been helping a 21 year old student study for his Geometry final as he is on his way toward his GED.

I asked him why he was suddenly motivated to complete his high school education. He told me he finally realized how important finishing high school was with respect to his future. I told him how proud I was of his decision. He said, “Thanks, but you are only like 10 years older than I am.” I thanked him and continued helping him with his studies. If he thinks I am 31 years old, I will help him as much as he wants.

In all honesty, it was so refreshing to see a student want to be at school. He leaves at 11:00 every day to go to work. The three hours he has been spending with me in the morning is amazing to me. I hope he is an inspiration to others.

Leave a Reply

